Senate Bill 386, signed into law on April 19, 2017, by Governor Jim Justice, created the Medical Cannabis Act that allows for cannabis to be used for certified medical use by a West Virginia resident with a serious medical condition and is limited by law to the following forms: pill; oil; topical forms including gels, creams or ointments; a form medically appropriate for administration by vaporization or nebulization, dry leaf or plant form; tincture; liquid; or dermal patch.
What are the Qualifying Conditions?
Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
Damage to the nervous tissue of the spinal cord with objective neurological indication of intractable spasticity
Multiple Sclerosis (MS)
Post-traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
Severe Chronic or Intractable Pain of neuropathic origin or severe chronic or intractable pain for which conventional treatment and opiate therapy is contraindicated or has proved ineffective
Sickle Cell Anemia
Terminal Illness with a life expectancy of approximately one year or less if the illness runs its normal course
How To Obtain A Patient ID
Step 1: Register Register via https://wv-public.mycomplia.com/#!/signin in the upper right corner of the screen. Once you have entered your information and submitted, you will receive an email from Complia with a link to verify your account. Once your account is verified, log in to create an application for New Patient Registration. Registering for a Patient Card from the Office of Medical Cannabis is a separate action from registering for a physicians’ visit and acquiring a Patient Certification form.
Important document Information:
Digital photo of passport quality
Photo ID such as a copy of your driver’s license
Proof of West Virginia Residency
Copy of completed Patient Certification form provided to you by your physician
Step 2: Obtain a Physician’s Certification Schedule an appointment with a West Virginia recommending physician and obtain a copy of the Patient Certification form from the physician upon completion of your appointment. The physician MUST SUBMIT a copy of the completed form to the Office of Medical Cannabis. Recommending physicians will conduct a thorough assessment of patient’s medical history. For a list of physicians near you, please email email@example.com or view the full here. *Patients should NOT email or mail the Patient Certification form to the Office of Medical Cannabis.
Step 3: Approval and Complete Registration Upon completion of the application, including uploading all documents a confirmation screen will appear with the Application ID number. Mail payment to: WV Office of Medical Cannabis, 350 Capitol Street, Room 523, Charleston, WV 25301. You will be notified via email on the status of your application. *The application ID number and patient name must be in the memo line of the check or money order.
Step 4: Obtain Medical Marijuana Card Medical marijuana cards have started to begin issuing throughout the state. Please allow at least 30 days from the receipt of your application and payment to the Office of Medical Cannabis before checking the status of your application.
IMPORTANT: Registration does not mean medical cannabis can immediately be obtained. Facilities (Grows/Dispensaries) are working hard to build out quickly. The good news: early registration allows for extended issue dates. Register by September 30, 2021 = card valid for 2 years total (1 year original + 1 year extension) Register after October 1, 2021 = card valid for 1 year total
Subscribe for alerts from TerraLeaf Dispensaries!